Kreidebuch

Compare · Strength training

The best workout log apps of 2026 for lifting

Kreidebuch, Hevy, Strong, JEFIT, Boostcamp and FitNotes side by side: what the free version does, what the subscription costs, whether you get 1RM, export and offline use, and where your data lives.

Last checked: October 25, 2026

Short answer: For gym lifting with a social feed and Apple Watch, Hevy is the popular pick; Strong is more minimal and offers a lifetime option; JEFIT has the biggest exercise library and adaptive plans on a subscription. If you want to run proven programs like 5/3/1 or nSuns, Boostcamp has the biggest selection; if you're on Android and don't want an account, there's FitNotes. Kreidebuch fits if you want WODs, a timer and benchmarks in the same log as your lifts.

This page is published by Kreidebuch, so we're not neutral. Everything we say about other apps comes with a source and a date. Spot a mistake? Email info@kreidebuch.de and we'll fix it.

At a glance

  • Kreidebuch: best for lifts and WODs in one log
  • Hevy: best for gym lifting with a social feed and Apple Watch
  • Strong: best for a few fixed routines and a clean interface
  • JEFIT: best for a big exercise library and adaptive plans
  • Boostcamp: best for running proven strength programs
  • FitNotes: best for Android, free and no account

Comparison table

As of October 25, 2026. On a phone, swipe the table sideways.

CriterionKreidebuchHevyStrongJEFITBoostcampFitNotes
Price / free tierfree; Premium €5.99 a month or €53.99 a year, 14-day Premium trialfree with no ads (4 routines, 7 custom exercises, 3 months of history); Pro from $2.99 a month, $23.99 a year, Lifetime $74.99free with no ads, max 3 custom routines; PRO $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year per its description; Lifetime from $79.99Basic free; Elite $12.99 a month or $69.99 a yearfree with a large program library; Pro $59.99 a year or $14.99 a monthfree, no subscription; optional “FitNotes Supporter” $6.99
Works without a boxyesyesyesyesyesyes
German languageyes (English and German)yesyesyes per the App Store; users report an English UIno, English only per the App Storenot stated
WOD formatsFor Time, AMRAP, EMOM, Tabata, intervals, chipper, multi-partno built-in WOD formats found; per Hevy, circuits and intervals via supersets with a rest timerno built-in WOD formats foundno built-in WOD formats foundno WOD formats found; AMRAP only as a set type in strength programsno built-in WOD formats found
Benchmarks145 (Girls, Heroes, classics, Open); history and standards with Premiumnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
1RMPRs per lift, estimated 1RM, percentage table; 1RM history with Premium1RM estimate1RM estimate (Brzycki)automatic 1RM estimate per exerciseestimated 1RM; charts and records per exercise with Pro1RM calculator, 2RM to 15RM table, percentage calculator
TimerFor Time, AMRAP, EMOM, Tabata, intervalsrest timer, workout duration, stopwatch for timed exercises; interval timer not statedrest timer per exercise; “Custom Timers” without detailsrest timer, stopwatch and countdown per exerciserest timer (lock screen, Live Activity)rest timer (sound, vibration, auto start)
ExportJSON and CSV, freeyes, workouts and body measurementsCSVCSV via the website per a third party; not stated by the vendornot statedCSV, plus backup and restore
Offlineyes: logging, timer, history; syncs when back onlineyesnot statednot statedyes, once a program is loadedyes, data stays on the device
Platformsweb app for iPhone, Android and desktop; no store app, no Apple WatchiPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Wear OS, webiPhone, Apple Watch, Android; no web appiPhone, Apple Watch, Android, Wear OS, webiPhone, iPad, Android; web only for building programsAndroid only
Tracking per App Store privacy labelno store app; per its own privacy policy no trackingnone listednone listedusage dataidentifiersnot on the App Store

“Not stated” means we found nothing about it on the store listings, the vendor's website or its help center. It doesn't mean the feature is missing. We didn't test the apps ourselves; the values come from the sources below. The “Tracking” row repeats the App Store privacy label (“Data Used to Track You”) as of October 25, 2026.

The apps in detail

Kreidebuch

Best for: lifts and WODs in one log.

Kreidebuch is a training log made by The Goodie Company GmbH near Würzburg, Germany. It runs as a web app in the browser and can be added to your home screen. Data is stored on a Hetzner server in Helsinki, Finland.

Kreidebuch is listed first because this page is published by Kreidebuch. That's not a ranking.

Strengths

  • WOD formats, a timer, 145 benchmarks and lifts with sets, RPE and 1RM in one app
  • Available in English and German
  • Works without a box, with your own movements and workouts
  • JSON and CSV export is free
  • Works offline and syncs later
  • Imports from BTWB, Wodify, SugarWOD, Strong, Hevy and Fitbod (Premium)

Limitations

  • Not a native app: no Apple Watch app, no Apple Health connection, no vibration on iPhone
  • New, with few users so far; accounts are invite-only for now
  • No box management software, no class leaderboards or rankings
  • Planning, templates, insights, strength programs and import need Premium

Price: Free with the timer, logging, history, benchmarks, PRs per lift and export. Premium costs €5.99 a month or €53.99 a year. New accounts get a 14-day Premium trial.

Ratings: Kreidebuch isn't listed in the app stores, so it has no store ratings.

Sources for Kreidebuch

Kreidebuch screen: lifts with PRs

Hevy

Best for: gym lifting with a social feed and Apple Watch.

Hevy is made by Hevy Studios S.L. in Spain. It's a strength training log with a feed, following and leaderboards.

Strengths

  • Free version with no ads, including RPE, supersets, 1RM estimates and a plate calculator
  • Lots of platforms: iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, web
  • Many languages, including German
  • Feed, following and leaderboards
  • Works offline

Limitations

  • Without Pro: 4 routines, 7 custom exercises, 3 months of history
  • No built-in WOD formats; intervals only via supersets
  • Imports only from Strong

Price: Free with limits. The US App Store lists Hevy Pro at $2.99 and $3.99 a month, $23.99 a year and Lifetime at $74.99. The list doesn't show clearly which monthly price applies to new customers.

Ratings: App Store US, Oct 25, 2026: 4.92 (99,951 ratings). App Store Germany: 4.89 (12,942). Google Play: 4.9 (about 283,000 reviews).

Sources for Hevy

Strong

Best for: a few fixed routines and a clean interface.

Strong is made by Strong Fitness PTE Limited in Singapore. It's a minimal strength training log; per its privacy policy, data is stored on servers in the United States and other countries.

Strengths

  • No ads, unlimited workouts for free
  • RPE with RIR conversion, set tags, supersets and circuits
  • CSV export that other apps can read
  • Available in German; lifetime purchase available
  • Apple Watch and Apple Health

Limitations

  • Without PRO, max 3 custom routines; plate calculator and body part measurements need PRO
  • No web app
  • Exported files can't be imported back into Strong, per its help center
  • Servers in the US and other countries

Price: Free with limits. Per its US description, PRO costs $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year. The in-app purchase list shows several prices (for example $23.99 and $29.99 a year), so it doesn't tell you which applies today. “Strong PRO Forever”: $79.99 or $99.99.

Ratings: App Store US, Oct 25, 2026: 4.86 (108,535 ratings). App Store Germany: 4.82 (10,134). Google Play US: 4.3 (about 42,800 reviews).

Sources for Strong

JEFIT

Best for: a big exercise library and adaptive plans.

JEFIT is made by Jefit Inc. in Santa Clara, California. Alongside the log it has more than 1,400 exercises and, with Elite, an adaptive plan.

Strengths

  • 1,400+ exercises with videos and animations
  • Lots of platforms, including web and Wear OS
  • Body weight, body fat, measurements and progress photos
  • With Elite: adaptive plan, periodization and progression suggestions (AI-assisted, per the vendor)

Limitations

  • RPE is logged once per session, not per set, per the vendor
  • Ads: the vendor's own statements conflict
  • Export only described by a third party

Price: Basic is free. Elite costs $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year on the US App Store, which also lists introductory and older prices.

Ratings: App Store US, Oct 25, 2026: 4.76 (46,924 ratings). App Store Germany: 4.64 (1,308). Google Play US: 4.4 (about 89,900 reviews).

Sources for JEFIT

Boostcamp

Best for: running proven strength programs.

Boostcamp is made by BPM Health Co. in New York. Its core is a big library of strength and hypertrophy programs, plus a builder for your own.

Strengths

  • Huge program library you can use for free
  • Program builder with % of 1RM, RPE and multi-week blocks, also on the web
  • RPE per set with an RIR hint
  • Works offline once a program is loaded

Limitations

  • English only (no German)
  • No Apple Watch app (the App Store lists iPhone and iPad only)
  • Data stored on US servers, per its privacy policy
  • Auto progression, per-exercise analytics and more than 3 custom exercises need Pro

Price: Free with limits (3 custom exercises, plate calculator 10 times). Pro costs $59.99 a year with a 7-day trial or $14.99 a month, per the vendor.

Ratings: App Store US, Oct 25, 2026: 4.85 (10,693 ratings). App Store Germany: 4.71 (314). Google Play US: 4.8 (about 13,600 reviews).

Sources for Boostcamp

FitNotes (Android)

Best for: Android, free and no account.

FitNotes is the Android app of solo developer James Gay in the UK. It needs no account and stores everything on your device, with optional backup to your own Google Drive.

Strengths

  • Completely free, no ads, unlimited routines
  • No account, data stays local; per Google Play no data is collected
  • 1RM calculator, percentage calculator and a configurable plate calculator
  • CSV export, backup and restore

Limitations

  • Android only; per its FAQ an iOS version isn't planned
  • Small exercise list without videos
  • Last updated October 24, 2025
  • CSV files can't be imported back, only its own backups

Price: Free, no subscription. If you want to support the developer, “FitNotes Supporter” costs $6.99 and adds more exercise types and per-exercise units.

Ratings: Google Play, Oct 25, 2026: 4.8 (about 31,600 reviews), 1M+ downloads. FitNotes by James Gay isn't on the App Store.

Sources for FitNotes

When Kreidebuch fits, and when it doesn't

Kreidebuch is a good fit if …

  • … you mix strength work and WODs, for example a strength part plus a metcon
  • … you want AMRAP, EMOM and Tabata timers right where you log
  • … you want to use the app on a computer in the browser too
  • … you want to bring your data from Strong or Hevy (CSV import with Premium)

Pick another app if …

  • … you need an Apple Watch app or Apple Health
  • … you want to save lots of routines for free, since templates and planning are Premium in Kreidebuch
  • … you're looking for a big library of ready-made programs (Boostcamp)
  • … you want your data to stay on your phone only (FitNotes)

FAQ

What's the best free workout log app with no subscription?

FitNotes for Android is completely free, with no subscription and no ads. Hevy, Strong, JEFIT and Boostcamp have free tiers with limits: Hevy allows 4 routines, 7 custom exercises and 3 months of history, Strong up to 3 custom routines, Boostcamp 3 custom exercises. Kreidebuch's core features are free; templates and planning are Premium.

Is there an app like Hevy but free?

Hevy itself is free with limits and no ads. If you want no limits at all and use Android, FitNotes is fully free. Strong is free for unlimited workouts but caps you at 3 custom routines. Hevy Pro is listed from $2.99 a month or $74.99 lifetime on the US App Store (as of October 25, 2026).

Hevy vs Strong: what's the difference?

Both are ad-free strength logs with Apple Watch support. Hevy has a social feed, a web version and Wear OS; its free tier allows 4 routines and 3 months of history. Strong has no web app, allows 3 custom routines for free and sells a lifetime “PRO Forever” license. Hevy can import Strong's CSV export.

Which gym app also handles WODs like AMRAP or EMOM?

We found no built-in WOD formats in the feature lists and help centers of Hevy, Strong, JEFIT, Boostcamp or FitNotes. Hevy explains how to build circuits and intervals with supersets and a rest timer. Kreidebuch has For Time, AMRAP, EMOM, Tabata and intervals with a timer.

Is there a workout log that works without an account?

FitNotes needs no account and keeps everything on your device. Hevy, Strong, JEFIT, Boostcamp and Kreidebuch use an account so your data syncs between devices.

Sources

We accessed every source on October 25, 2026. Ratings and prices change all the time.

Kreidebuch

Hevy

Strong

JEFIT

Boostcamp

FitNotes (Android)

CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, LLC. Kreidebuch is not affiliated with CrossFit, LLC. SugarWOD, Beyond the Whiteboard (BTWB), Wodify, PRzilla, SmartWOD, Seconds, WODProof, Hevy, Strong, JEFIT, Boostcamp, FitNotes and all other app names mentioned are trademarks of their respective owners. Kreidebuch is not affiliated with any of these companies. We don't use their logos, only their names.

Try Kreidebuch alongside the app you use now.

Open the app

Kreidebuch starts invite-only: you get a link from your box or from people who already use it.